this is something that i think about a lot of the time. it's the photographer in me. i love taking photographs of people and i do like making people look good. especially if i am taking professional photographs. big events and special occasions and head shots are meant to look rather nice. i don't have any qualms about making someone look their best and i try to do it with the most integrity possible!
i am trying to also be that change and be able to laugh at myself and accept ugly pictures. even if i look like i have 5 chins sometimes. i'm learning to have confidence in myself in this way and not let one photograph define who i am. perhaps this is why i love the game "ugly faces" so much. it's a photo game in which while pushing the shutter button, you move every part of your face...eyes, eyebrows, nose, mouth, tongue...and the outcome is pretty hilarious. you look so awful, but that's what is so great about it. it's meant to look awful and you laugh. the challenge here though is to actually play the game and laugh at yourself. it can be really gross sometimes, but just keep going. i've discovered that this game, as silly as it is, has helped me laugh at myself and not care how gross i look. and it's fun.
a big challenge as well is looking at all the pictures i take or others take of me and not care. it's just a photograph. it's not going to define who i really am. yeah, people may judge me or not be my friend or not want to date me based on what i might look like, but still, that does not nor will it ever define me.
this is me and i like to make funny faces. and this photo makes me laugh so much and yet it is so gross.