that's for sure but we're not so into him either.
what a film. i love this genre of film but was very disappointed by this particular movie. i believe it was a waste of my money and a waste of my time.
the only enjoyment i got out of it was laughing at the pathetic character gigi as she obsessed her way through one date after another and bordered the line of stalkerville. at first i thought she was going to annoy me but i grew to love her and her ridiculous ways. i laughed and snorted as she misread every "signal" every guy was sending her way. she was clueless and so sad but i couldn't help but love her and laugh. i also reveled at the thought of how almost every girl could relate to her but probably on a smaller scale and less intensity.
the film followed several story lines but gigi's was pretty much the only one i enjoyed.
i hated the way they endorsed marriage and sex.
marriage was displayed in such a way that i almost left the theater. my desire to see films to their finish caused me to remain. on one hand, i wish i had left. only one married couple was portrayed and it fell apart because of an affair. a single woman meets the married man and they acknowledge a huge attraction toward each other. she is hesitant as he begins to flirt with the idea of sleeping with her. she tells a friend who advises her to go for it because there was this one guy who met the love of his life while he was already married and so he left his wife to marry this woman (who he met at a church event no less). i might have yelled "what?" during that part of the movie and then not meaning to loudly tell a friend who hushed me that i was pissed.
seriously. i was so pissed. is this the message we are buying? i wanted to proclaim loudly to everyone in the theater....this. is. a. LIE! marriage is not something that should just be thrown around so easy but that's what our society has grown accustomed to. i'm not so deft to believe that marriage is easy or perfect but you don't just throw it away because you think something better has come along. i'm so tired of this mentality and way of living (even among christians). it's scary and sometimes i don't ever want to get married. but then i remember, no, i do want to get married and i know that god is in control.
the sex. it's what brings you together and your affirmation that he or she is into you. the film was sort of broken up into chapters with title cards posing a thought followed by an interview...the one that angered me the most: "if she's not sleeping with you..." and the guy interviewed says, then she's not into you. that is a HUGE load of crap. Not every girl is sexually active and even if she is, does that really mean she's into you? I'm more upset about the former. that is not how women portray their attraction, their confirmation of being into a man. not at all, at least not for me. it's such a lie. yet girls believe it and believe they have to sleep with a guy to be affirmed.
this film totally confirmed the lies we are being fed and not from hollywood but from the king of lies. he has us around his little finger and he just smiles and smiles watching as we fall from grace. watching us as we fall into sexual relationships, as we have affairs, as we divorce, as we despise others, as we lie, as we self hate, as we find our worth and identity in everything other than christ, and as we believe...ALL. THESE. LIES.
as someone passionate about film, i pray that god will show up and take hollywood's roots and replant them deep down where they will be truly nourished rather than sucking feverishly at the dismal mirage on the surface. i pray for refreshment and revitalization. a real resuscitation of the heart. it is beyond needed.
Monday, February 9, 2009
Thursday, February 5, 2009
my little mini me
so my mom tells me almost everytime my niece does something silly or crazy how much she is reminded of me at that age. pretty much almost everything she does reminds my mom of me.
well, my little niece is so silly a lot of the time and she loves to tease. it's so funny. she is like a little mini me. my mom doesn't like her teasing which makes me laugh and makes her tease more.
i adore her so much and enjoy all the time i get to spend with her. she is precious and so much fun!
her favorite things to do (esp. with aunt danielle):
*play hide and go seek.
*draw. she loves to draw her family and animals.
*make me draw.
*read books.
*chase me.
*make funny faces.
*dance and sing (she makes me dip her all the time).
*wear my shoes.
*pose for the camera.
*attack me and pretend like she's biting me.
*bake cupcakes.
*lick people. (no joke. she thinks she's a puppy sometimes)
*sing songs from the movie enchanted. (this is our very own special thing we do)
*watch disney movies.
*laugh and giggle and tickle.
my silly niece:
well, my little niece is so silly a lot of the time and she loves to tease. it's so funny. she is like a little mini me. my mom doesn't like her teasing which makes me laugh and makes her tease more.
i adore her so much and enjoy all the time i get to spend with her. she is precious and so much fun!
her favorite things to do (esp. with aunt danielle):
*play hide and go seek.
*draw. she loves to draw her family and animals.
*make me draw.
*read books.
*chase me.
*make funny faces.
*dance and sing (she makes me dip her all the time).
*wear my shoes.
*pose for the camera.
*attack me and pretend like she's biting me.
*bake cupcakes.
*lick people. (no joke. she thinks she's a puppy sometimes)
*sing songs from the movie enchanted. (this is our very own special thing we do)
*watch disney movies.
*laugh and giggle and tickle.
my silly niece:
Tuesday, February 3, 2009
high school bible study
so i'm back into a bit of youth ministry...leading a bible study on tuesday nights. the church i attend doesn't have a youth group and so after much prayer i decided to start a bible study for high school students. three teenagers came and it was fantastic. i just love them and i'm excited to see how god works in their lives and through this study we are doing of james. i'm looking forward to getting to know them better and being a part of their lives. i pray for god's blessing over this and for his wisdom.
it was a hilarious evening as two of the students are homeschooled and they talk about courting. i asked what the difference was between courting and dating. the non-homeschooled student said, "nothing. that's just the homeschool word for dating." it was so funny. i laughed so hard and they all did as well, thank goodness.
speaking of dating, at jbu's chapel today, the speakers talked about relationships and spoke honestly about some of the issues college students at a christian university deal with...the pressures and the realities. i rather enjoyed their stories and words of wisdom. one guy told a story about a date he went on in highschool to a putt putt place. at the fourth hole, he swung his club high and pretended to hit the ball hard. his date thought he really hit it and jumped out of the way only to trip over the little rope barrier causing her to fall and roll into the pond. no joke! i was laughing so hard. he then took her home but a half mile past her house he ran out of gas, so he went back to ask for her dad's help. at least they laughed about it at his 20 year reunion.
it was an almost pee my pants in chapel day.
the same guy told us this story about his wife (a different woman) and how she likes to pull practical jokes on him. one night she woke him up and asked him to seek out a suspicious noise-an idling car. when he returned she had stuffed the bed with pillows unbeknownst to him and hid on the floor beside his side of the bed. when he went to get into bed she grabbed his legs and pulled him down to the ground and all he could think that is was the man from the idling car. seriously SO funny.
yep, pee your pants kind of day.
it's good to laugh, snort and smile.
it was a hilarious evening as two of the students are homeschooled and they talk about courting. i asked what the difference was between courting and dating. the non-homeschooled student said, "nothing. that's just the homeschool word for dating." it was so funny. i laughed so hard and they all did as well, thank goodness.
speaking of dating, at jbu's chapel today, the speakers talked about relationships and spoke honestly about some of the issues college students at a christian university deal with...the pressures and the realities. i rather enjoyed their stories and words of wisdom. one guy told a story about a date he went on in highschool to a putt putt place. at the fourth hole, he swung his club high and pretended to hit the ball hard. his date thought he really hit it and jumped out of the way only to trip over the little rope barrier causing her to fall and roll into the pond. no joke! i was laughing so hard. he then took her home but a half mile past her house he ran out of gas, so he went back to ask for her dad's help. at least they laughed about it at his 20 year reunion.
it was an almost pee my pants in chapel day.
the same guy told us this story about his wife (a different woman) and how she likes to pull practical jokes on him. one night she woke him up and asked him to seek out a suspicious noise-an idling car. when he returned she had stuffed the bed with pillows unbeknownst to him and hid on the floor beside his side of the bed. when he went to get into bed she grabbed his legs and pulled him down to the ground and all he could think that is was the man from the idling car. seriously SO funny.
yep, pee your pants kind of day.
it's good to laugh, snort and smile.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)